vaultboy Reunites With Salem Ilese o New Single "Closer"

Multi-talented artist vaultboy reunites with salem ilese (of "mad at disney" fame) on his latest single, "closer". Dubbed "the King of Sad Songs" by Rolling Stone, vaultboy is no stranger to being vulnerable and wearing his heart on his sleeve. The track explores the delicate dance of budding romantic feelings, described by vaultboy as the "blissful purgatory" between platonic friendship and a full-fledged relationship.

"You both know you like each other, and you both know where it’s headed, but neither one of you has the guts to say it out loud. Salem and I wrote this song from personal experiences in each of our lives and so we hope people can relate to our stories," said vaultboy.

"This track is about the beginning phases of a relationship, and how it’s both exciting and excruciating. The song spilled out of vaultboy and me during our session. It only took a few hours to write and felt more like a hang than a productive studio day," said salem ilese.

vaultboy and salem ilese have reunited following their 2023 single, “don’t shop when ur hungry!!” taken from salem’s sophomore album 'High Concept'. This track is a continuation of their sonic journey. On “closer”, they showcase their vulnerability and songwriting prowess, collaborating with the songwriting-producer duo Colin & Alex. As frequent collaborators of vaultboy’s, the duo actively participated in a joint creative process, with vaultboy making noteworthy contributions to the track's production.

"closer" is pulled from his newly announced upcoming debut album, 'everything and nothing', scheduled for release on May 10. This follows the success of his recent singles, "everything, everywhere" featuring eaJ, "everything hits me at once" and "where tf have you been?".

'everything and nothing' tracklist
1. take the hit
2. closer (feat. salem ilese)
3. where tf have you been?
4. you're my moon
5. everything is getting better
6. hello, goodbye
7. everything hits me at once
8. everything is falling apart again
9. everything, everywhere (feat. eaJ)
10. petals
11. this is heaven, this is hell
12. everything is nothing 

vaultboy is gearing up to kick off his upcoming multi-city global tour in May taking him across Europe, Australia, and Asia. Tickets are available now here.

  • June 13 – Manilla, Philippines – Podium Hall
  • June 14 – Singapore  – Foo Chow Building Auditorium

Since his explosive debut in 2021, vaultboy’s talent for songwriting has garnered him over 650 million streams globally and nearly 3.9 million monthly listeners on Spotify. Navigating matters of the heart through his music with perfect poise, his talent for witty and relatable lyricism has not gone unnoticed.

vaultboy's knack for flawless and catchy alt-pop is evident throughout every release, from his chart-topping viral debut hit "everything sucks" to fan favourite tracks "rocket science", "aftermath" and "i think i wanna text u".

In just 2 years, vaultboy's meteoric rise has won over the hearts of millions of fans across the world. Currently, Asian markets dominate his Top 10 Streaming Markets Worldwide. His Top 10 list includes India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Taiwan and Thailand.  

No comments