British Pop Band Flawes Dropped Their Long Awaited Album ‘One Step Back, Two Steps Forward’ Today

Flawes’ modern take on timeless pop put them on the map from the very beginning, resulting in a famous fan in the shape of Billie Eilish, sessions with Finneas, repeated support from Radio 1 and performances at Reading and Leeds. Having just finished as guests on Tom Grennan’s European tour, Flawes’ return this year has been better than ever with the singles "Don’t Blame Me", "Is It Any Wonder?", "Tears Won’t Show" and "Satellite" – today they release their eagerly anticipated sophomore album ‘One Step Back, Two Steps Forward’.

‘One Step Back, Two Steps Forward’ is a driving-with-the-top-down record, their slick, uplifting sound powered by propulsive rhythms, yearning guitars and choruses that soar. Informed by an attitude that every moment matters, it’s a record which wastes no time in unveiling its direct yet nuanced pop charms. Not a single song lingers until the four-minute mark, creating a breathless momentum that feels like an instant greatest hits collection. Entirely written or co-written by Flawes, the album also features contributions from  Mike Crossey (The 1975, Wolf Alice, Foals), Simon Oscroft (Olivia Rodrigo, Portugal. The Man), Jonathan Gilmore (Rina Sawayama, Twenty One Pilots) and Thom Powers (The Naked and Famous). 

Vocalist Josh ‘JC’ Carruthers says, “'One Step Back, Two Steps Forward' reflects our attitude towards most things in life: be positive through the tough times, and trust that things will be get better. You often have to take a step backwards before things can improve. Whether that’s by ending a toxic relationship or removing yourself from a situation that doesn’t serve you. The songs we wrote for this body of work naturally seemed to fit into one of two categories - they either focused on past situations or on a more positive future, so the track-listing pretty much wrote itself! We also like the positive spin it puts on the traditional ‘one step forward, two steps back’. Flawes is a reminder to embrace your imperfections as they really do make you who you are!” 

The new single "Give Me Your Worst" depicts a sour end to a relationship where the other party isn’t willing to “go down without a fight”, instead doing everything in their power to make things difficult. Written with Thom Powers of The Naked and Famous, "Give Me Your Worst"  ironically shows the band at their best and boldest. 

Josh adds, “‘Give Me Your Worst’ was a collaboration with Thom Powers of ‘The Naked And Famous’. We’re all fans of his music and were super excited to get the opportunity to work together while over in LA. We really pushed ourselves in the studio and came out with a song that feels fresh and exciting to the three of us. We experimented with a bunch of new production techniques and love how it came out. We also got to play this one live while supporting Tom Grennan recently and it really came alive!" 

JC and bandmates Freddie Edwards (guitars) and drummer Josh ‘Huss’ Hussey (drums) keep the mood upbeat throughout, travelling through dramatic electro-pop ("Give Me Your Worst"), Coldplay-esque synth-centred anthems ("Satellite") and the explosive euphoric redemption of the closing track ("Waste It All On You"). Yet they provide a darker tone to the album too, with the moody, bluesy kiss-off and fighting spirit of "Tears Won’t Show". A little over 32 minutes after pressing play, ‘One Step Back, Two Step Forward’ proves that Flawes’ have raised their game to previously unprecedented levels. The album is released on all digital platforms, CD and vinyl.

The band has had numerous successes in Asia. Their previous releases had gotten support from various streaming services across all markets giving them a steady stream of almost 20k listenership monthly – currently, The Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand are among their top 30 streaming markets worldwide.

Additionally, Flawes’ podcast ‘Meet At The Hotel Bar’ has been attracting plenty of attention as well. Each fortnight, the boys invite fans to listen in on a conversation with a friend from the world of music to unveil the larger-than-life, outrageous or simply unbelievable experiences that come with a life spent on tour. Guests include Chris from Muse, Woody from Bastille, Thom Powers from The Naked and The Famous, Natti Shiner of Fickle Friends, Rhino of Status Quo, Hugh from The Kooks, Dan from The Wombats and Ella Eyre.

No comments