Electronic Duo Hermitude Unveil New Album 'Mirror Mountain'

Acclaimed Australian electronic duo Hermitude have unveiled their hotly-anticipated new album 'Mirror Mountain', out now via Elefant Traks/Nettwerk.

An eight-track release, the album was recorded at Angus’ home on the outskirts of the Blue Mountain town of Blackheath, just as the rest of the world went into lockdown. The pair opted for a pared-back setup of one synth, one laptop and a Moog Matriarch, attempting “not to over-clutter the music," they explained. “Recording 'Pollyanarchy' was a fun experience, but it was also tiring,” said Angus Stuart. 

“We wanted to strip everything back and return to the essence of why we started Hermitude in the first place,” Luke Dubber added. “Which was just us two locked in a studio in the mountains having a bit of fun and seeing what came out.”

The LP kicks off with “St Claire”, one of three singles on the album. Characterised by lush, atmospheric dance vibes, it very much sets the tone. “Lift Me Up” carries a similar energy, before the breakbeat euphoria of “Promises”–the LP’s second single featuring newcomer vocalist Andie. Third and final single “When You Feel Like This” is a collaboration with indie-rock outfit The Jungle Giants that offers a nimble, high-energy dose of feel-good electronica. The aptly-titled “Golden Hour” evokes the kind of wistful beauty attached to witnessing a breathtaking sunrise, and “Flush With Love” pairs poignant piano chords with warped vocals. Closing things out, “Tides Of Time” delivers some meditative respite, before “Sixth Sense” ensures 'Mirror Mountain' finishes on a suitably glistening note.

“When You Feel Like This” is a triumphant collaboration between two of Australia’s most talented musical exports. Consisting of Luke Dubber (a.k.a. Luke Dubs) and Angus Stuart (a.k.a. El Gusto), Billboard-chart topping outfit Hermitude have been releasing music since the turn of the century, drawing widespread critical acclaim and sold-out headline shows around the world. They have since released six albums, most recently last year’s 'Pollyanarchy'. 

Their Nettwerk debut album, 'Dark Night Sweet Light', debuted Top 10 on Billboard's Electronic Chart, performing standout singles like "The Buzz (feat. Mataya and Young Tapz)" at sold-out international festival stages like Lollapalooza, Governor's Ball, SXSW, and Laneway Festival in Singapore.

Their latest album, 'Pollyanarchy', reflected the duo's development as one of the country's best collaborators, working with guest artists like Buddy & BJ The Chicago Kid, Vic Mensa, Bibi Bourelly, Electric Fields, and Haiku Hands, Daniel Bedingfield, Kimbra, Kameron, and Drew Love, which led to headline shows in Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, and Singapore in 2019.

Most recently, "Hyperparadise" received a Tropkillaz remix, and its previous flip from Flume and GANZ was featured on EA Sports' FIFA 2022 soundtrack. Deeply-rooted in home, the forthcoming album 'Mirror Mountain' is out May 6, 2022 via Elefant Traks/Nettwerk Records.

No comments